Scholarship Program

2014 Recipients: Molly Slothower and Julia Bramstedt, both graduates of Ellensburg High School
Who will be next? Apply Now!

Swauk-Teanaway Grange scholarship recipients    Molly Slothower and Julia Bramstedt, both 2014 honors graduates of Ellensburg High School with ambitious goals for their futures, are this year’s winners of $1,000 scholarships from the Swauk-Teanaway Grange.  Both met all the requirements for this scholarship, and the Grange is proud to award them these scholarships.

2014 Recipient Molly Slothower and her parents Jeffrey and Susan

2014 Recipient Molly Slothower and her parents Jeffrey and Susan

2014 Scholarship Recipient Julia Bramstedt and her parents Daniel and Lorraine

2014 Scholarship Recipient Julia Bramstedt and her parents Daniel and Lorraine

Eligibility & Application

    The Swauk-Teanaway Grange will award $1,000 in scholarship money in 2015. To be eligible, you must be a high school senior graduating in Kittitas County. Our points of consideration are:

  • An agricultural background or history of participation in agricultural activities or plans to pursue a career in an ag-related field.
  • Community and school involvement.
  • Grade point average–to be verified with transcript.
  • If Running Start student, include CWU transcript.

Applicants with a history of Grange membership will receive credit for that membership, whether it is their own membership or that of family members or guardians. If possible, please provide documentation with your application.

Previous Recipients:



Victoria Zencak, a home-schooled student who also did Running Start, is enrolled at Central Washington University.



Nicholas Gylling, an Ellensburg High School senior, is enrolled at the University of Washington.



Andrew Clarke is an Ellensburg High School graduate who went on to Yakima Valley Community College.

DSC_4476 Nathan Sorensen-002


Nathan Sorensen was a graduate of Kittitas High School.



Amanda Anderson was a Cle Elum/Roslyn graduate who went on to Central Washington University.



Scholarship recipients Amber Strand and Molly Jo Ballard. Pictured, left to right: Jack and June Hendrickson, Molly Jo Ballard, Amber Strand and Scholarship Committee Chair, Sally Gililand


Scholarship recipient Travis Matthews accepts award from Scholarship Chair Barb Sowers.

Where Are They Now? Updates from Past Scholarship Recipients:

2009: Travis Matthews, the 2009 Ellensburg High School graduate was chosen to receive our $1,000 Scholarship Award, became a member of our Grange in July. Travis, whose family live in Thorp and who have a long history of Grange members, earned a John Deere Technology Degree at Walla Walla Community College and graduated from Washington State University in 2014. We are proud to count Travis as a member of our Grange and wish him well in his new job!

2015 Scholarship Applications now being accepted

Complete all sections of the application. Forms must be received by our committee no later than March 16, 2015. These include your application form, letter, and transcript. Incomplete applications will not be considered. Finalists may be interviewed before a final selection of the winner is made. Please do not submit a resume instead of filling in all sections of the application form.

When complete, mail Application Materials To:

Swauk-Teanaway Grange Scholarship Committee
c/o Sally Gililand, Chair of Committee
PO Box 813
South Cle Elum, WA 98943-0813